The Ernest Hemingway Flash Fiction Prize

We are delighted to announce the results of the 2018 Hemingway Prize. Thanks to everyone who submitted, and a special thanks to our judge, Daren Dean. We are now accepting submissions for the 2019 Prize. 


“What the Cold May Bring” by Jarrett Kaufman


“I’m Blue” by L. Vocum

“My Mother’s Tongue” by Zvezdana Rashkovich

“BFF’s by Marianne Rogoff

“The Heart of the Taciturn” by Madeline Tredway

“Everyone Knows” by Charles Grosel

“Unbeknownst to Me” by Steph Karp

“Caring for Roses” by Stephen Fuller

“Heedless of the Wind and Weather” by George Choundas


Though many writers have helped to shape the history of flash fiction, Ernest Hemingway’s first short-story collection, In Our Time, easily makes him one of the form’s primary pioneers. For this reason, Fiction Southeast has chosen to honor his accomplishments through the Ernest Hemingway Flash Fiction Prize. Each year, a participating judge will select a winner (and three runners-up).

Contest Guidelines:

Entries for the Ernest Hemingway Flash Fiction Prize should be approximately 1500 words or less. Submissions should be unpublished and in .rtf, .doc, or .pdf format. Feel free to submit multiple stories, but please DO NOT submit multiple Word documents as one submission or one text document containing multiple stories. Instead, please submit each story as a SEPARATE entry (so that you complete an individual submission process for each story). Simultaneous submissions ARE welcome.Contest will open annually in on January 1st with a deadline of December 31st. Entry fee is $10. All entries will be considered for publication in Fiction Southeast. Click here to submit your entry.

  • Winner – $200 and publication in Fiction Southeast
  • Finalists – publication in Fiction Southeast
*Winner and finalists typically announced in late late March/early April.


Results from previous years:

Previous Winners / Finalists